Now Reading
“Aníkúlápó,” “Brotherhood,” and “Shanty Town” Steal the Spotlight at AMVCA 9 Nominations Show

“Aníkúlápó,” “Brotherhood,” and “Shanty Town” Steal the Spotlight at AMVCA 9 Nominations Show

IMG 20230417 034838

The leading films clinched multiple nominations in voting and non-voting categories.

By Helena Olori

The African Film and Television Industry is abuzz with excitement and anticipation as Africa Magic, on Sunday, unveiled the nominations list for the much awaited 9th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards, AMVCA.  The live nominations show which had fans on the edge of their seats was gracefully hosted by the charismatic duo of Big Brother Naija Alumni, Bisola Aiyeola, and Ghanaian star actor, Adjetey Anang.

Topping the nominations chart is Kunle Afolayan’s mystical folklore drama, Aníkúlápó, with 16 nods. Following closely are Jade Osiberu’s Crime Thriller, Brotherhood and the riveting thriller series, Shanty Town, with 11 nominations each. Funke Akindele’s box office hit, Battle on Buka Street, also garnered 9 nominations.

Aníkúlápó - Brotherhood - Shanty Town - Battle on Buka Street
IMG 20230417 002210 IMG 20230417 034838

 (Read also: Funke Akindele’s “Battle on Buka Street” Grosses Over $60,000 in Us Cinemas)

Aníkúlápó, which was recently lauded as the best performing film on Netflix Nigeria, and top 10 best foreign films in 11 countries on the streaming platform, will compete for the most coveted title of “Best Overall Movie” against other acclaimed titles such as Brotherhood, Battle on Buka Street, King of Thieves (Agesinkole), Four Four Forty Four, Ile Owo, and Ugandan mental health thriller, Tembele.

(Read also: Kunle Afolayan’s Legacy Endures in Netflix Fantasy — Further Consideration of Anikulapo)

See Also
Damola Ademola, A Weekend to Forget, Inkblot Productions

14 of the listed categories, including Best Drama Series, Best Comedy Series, Best Unscripted Originals, Best Actresses, Best Actors, And Online Social Content Creators, etc., are open to public voting. 21 categories are to be decided by the Femi Odugbemi-led Jury.

The voting portal is now open for viewers’ participation ahead of the awards ceremony slated for May 20, 2023.

See full list of nominees.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top