September 23, 2023

By Editor

Kenyan writer, Idza Luhumyo, has been announced winner of the 2022 AKO Caine Prize for African Writing.

The announcement was made last night at the Victoria & Albert museum in London. Luhumyo was described by Chair of Judges, Okey Ndibe, as “a magnificent writer.”

Luhumyo’s story, “Five Years Next Sunday,” beats four other short stories from Nigeria, Ghana and Ethiopia to clinch the prestigious prize.

Luhumyo becomes the fifth Kenyan to win the prize, after Makena Onjerika in 2018 with her story, “Fanta Blackcurrant.”

IMG 20220718 212142
L-R. Billie McTernan, Hannah Giorgis, Nana Ama-Danquah, Idza Luhumyo, Joshua Chizoma. The 2022 shortlisted writers at a ceremony in London.

The AKO Caine Prize for African Writing is an annual literary prize that honours the best African short fiction written in the English language.

The winner of the prize is awarded a cash prize of £10,000 as well as publication in the Caine Prize anthology.

Download and read “Five Years Next Sunday,” and the four other shortlisted stories here.

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Subscribe to our newsletter

Translate »