Now Reading
Submissions Open for the 2023 AKO Caine Prize for African Writing

Submissions Open for the 2023 AKO Caine Prize for African Writing

AKO Caine Prize for African Writing, African writers

Window for the 2023 prize closes January 26th, 2023.

By Editor

Submissions are currently open, up till the 26th of January 2023, for the 2023 edition of the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing. Publishers of African literature from across and beyond the continent are invited to submit their entries before the deadline.

The AKO Caine Prize Award for African Writing is an annual literary award for a published short story by an African writer. The winner of the prize is awarded a cash sum of £10,000, with the shortlisted writers winning a cash sum of £500. In addition to this, shortlisted writers will be published in the Caine Prize anthology, as well as will receive an invitation for the award night and preparatory events in London.

The winner of last year’s prize was Idza Luhumyo (Kenya) for her short story, “Five Years Next Sunday” praised by chair, Okey Ndibe, as “incandescent.”

(Read Also: Safal-Cornell Kiswahili Prize Winners Set To Speak At The Institute For African Development)

54CB5C7A BD0C 43E1 AAEE 052F737C0E7F


Writers must be 18 years of age as of 24th November 2022

The story must have been published in the five years preceding the submissions deadline. For 2023 eligibility, the judges will only consider work published between 1st February 2018 and 25th January 2023.

Entries must be more than 3,000 words or less than 10,000 words.

Entries must be submitted by a publisher. This includes publishers of physical and digital books, literary journals, magazines or literature-oriented websites. 

Self-published and unpublished works are not eligible.

Publishers are encouraged to submit multiple short stories as long as they do not submit more than one story by the same author as the judges will only consider one work per writer in any given year.

See Also
Olóládé - Afrocritik

Stories may only be entered for consideration for the Caine Prize once. Unfortunately this means that you may not re-submit a story for consideration, even if it was not selected for the shortlist. 

Genres not eligible for entry include: stories for children, factual writing, academic essays, plays, poetry and autobiography/biography.

Submissions must specify which African country the author comes from and the short story word count.

Publishers should not submit watermarked stories.

Publishers are required to upload a ‘publisher’s letter’ with each submission.

Publishers may submit through the portal here.

The judges for the 2023 prize include Bilal Tanweer (Chair), Rémy Ngamije, Ameena Hussein, Mac Donald Dixon, and Selina Tusitala Marsh.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top