Now Reading
2022 Toyin Falola Prize Longlist Announced

2022 Toyin Falola Prize Longlist Announced

Toyin Falola

The prize is awarded in honour of Nigerian author, editor and poet, Toyin Fálọlá.

By Editor

The ten-man longlist for the 2022 Toyin Falola Prize has been announced.

The Prize is aimed at honouring “celebrated author, editor, writer, poet, academic leader,” Toyin Fálọlá for his contributions to the field of African art, history and culture.

The 2022 prize, themed “Freedom” is judged by Booker Prize longlisted novelist, Karen Jennings, and Algerian writer, Fayssal Bensalah.

The long listed writers and their works are:

Amadi on the Concrete —  Jarred Thompson

Arewa Boys — Abdulrahim Hussani

Bury My Body — Ani Kayode Somtochukwu

Caged Birds — Sakinah Musa

Heatwave — Mia Uys

Salem — Alex Kadiri

See Also
National Arts Merit Awards -NAMAs - Afrocritik - 2024

They Call Me Trouble — Fatima Okkhuosami

Time Stands Still — Radha Opubor

TriniBoys — Daniel Ogba

Truthing Through — Babalola Joseph

Toyin Falola Prize Longlist
Toyin Falola Prize Longlist

Judge, Bensalah notes that, “The stories are dauntless. Their writers are clearly observant and actively and personally concerned with the issues of their societies. The stories prove that Africa’s passion for telling stories remains wild, salient, and always growing. It’s a flame that’s constantly being fueled by many new writers who truly care about the present and future of their continent.”

“The submitted stories speak loudly for this as they diagnose futuristic concerns and tackle continental themes. What’s interesting is that the stories are hopeful and optimistic. They shift away from the negative representations of Africa and focus on her beauties instead. They also try to imagine a ‘futuristic Africa’ and assert that the continent has all the resources to make it happen.”

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure
View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top