December 2, 2023

The winners in the different categories will be announced at the Africa Century International Writers Conference on November 7, 2023. 

By Hope Ibiale

The South African Literary Awards (SALA) has released the shortlist for its 2023 edition. From over 200 submissions, 30 literary works have been shortlisted in different categories by 34 judges.

The South African Literary Awards (SALA) was founded by the wRite Associates in partnership with the South African Department of Arts and Culture in 2005. Since its inception, the literary prize has awarded South African writers whose works have been published in any of the country’s eleven official languages. The winners in the different categories will be announced at the Africa Century International Writers Conference on November 7, 2023.

South African Literary Awards SALA 2023 - Afrocritik

The shortlisted authors and their works are given below

Children’s Literature Award

Unakho by Sinathi Mpukwana

Flap! Rattle! Stomp!  by Irene Berman

Tutu le Lulu by Kabelo Kgatea

Montsane le Motho Molebatsi Bosilong

Tokkelossiebossie en ander dol gedoentes by Mr Philip de Vos

Nelly and Sam Thwala by Claudette Browne Storrar

(Read also: Obari Gomba’s Play, Grit Wins the 2023 Nigeria Prize for Literature)

First Time Published Award

Bohlulwe Kukusa by Ayanda Chris Mntwapi

Lerato La Lepheko by Ntloro Charlotte Pebane

Across the Kala Pani by Shevlyn Mottai

,Alitjhingi Linganandaba by Zodwa Zondi

Youth Literature Award

Dit het alles begin met ‘n hond by Annelie Ferreira

Time of the Swallows by Dianne Stewart

Makgoma A Dihlong by Kobate John Sekele

The Second Verse by Onke Mazibuko

Go tseba mang? By Makwena Nkwana

Ukuzazi Ukuzithemba Nokuzamkela by Mihlali Blackie

Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award

Here Comes the Gay King by Dimakatso David Mokwena

Poetry Award

Yombela by Vuyisile Msila

Tswina ya poko by Kaka Mokakale

Amajingiqhiw’ entlalo by Anelisa Thengimfene

Dark Horse by Michèle Betty

Small Souls: New and Collected Poems by Stephen Symons

Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award

White Chalk by Terry-Ann Adams 

Creative Non-Fiction Literary Award

The Lost Prince of the ANC: The Life and Times of Jabulani Nobleman ‘Mzala’ Nxumalo by Mandla J. Radebe,

Can Themba: The Making and Breaking of the Intellectual Tsotsi, a Biography by Siphiwo Mahala

(Read also: Cassava Republic Press Launches Black Women’s Non-Fiction Manuscript Prize)

Novel Award

Intlungu yokuhlalwa lilahle emhlana by Sipho Kekezwa

Re Hwile La Pitsana by Kobate John Sekele

An Angel’s Demise by Sue Nyathi

Hone Hu Tshi Tea U Maliwa Nga vhugai by Thivhusiwi Tshindane Tshivhula 

Two Tons O’ Fun by Fred Khumalo

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Translate »