December 7, 2023

Oburumu’s manuscript will be published by the University of Nebraska Press.

By Editor

Nigerian poet and essayist, Tares Oburumu, has been announced winner of the 2022 edition of The Sillerman First Book  Prize for African Poetry. He wins the prize for his collection of poetry, origins of the syma species.

Oburumu will be awarded the cash prize of $1,000, and will have his manuscript published by the University of Nebraska Press.

The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poetry, administered by the African Poetry Book Fund, is given annually to a poet of African descent whose collection of poetry has not been previously published.

The African Poetry Book Fund also administers the Evaristo African Poetry Prize, as well as the Glenna Luschei Prize for African Poetry. The Fund’s Editorial  Board is administered by celebrated Ghanaian poet, editor, and critic, Kwame Dawes.

Previous winners of the prize have been Clifton Gachagua (2014), Ladan Osman (2015), Mahtem Shiferraw (2016), Safia Elhillo (2017), Tjawangwa Dema (2018), Gbenga Adeoba (2019), Cheswayo Mphanza (2020), and Sherry Shenoda (2021).

Oburumu is a Nigerian poet, playwright and novelist from Delta state, Nigeria. His poetry pamphlet, Breath of Me, was published by Poetry Mill in July 2014.

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Translate »