September 28, 2023

Okojie is joined by chair of judges, Louise Minchin, alongside Rachel Joyce, Bella Mackie and Kilburn Tulip Siddiq.

By Editor

Nigerian short story writer, podcaster, and novelist, Irenosen Okojie, has been announced as part of the judging panel for the 2023 Women’s Prize for Fiction.

The panel is chaired by author and journalist, Louise Minchin, and includes, alongside Okojie, Rachel Joyce, Bella Mackie and Kilburn Tulip Siddiq.

Minchin commented on the selection thus: “Women’s Prize for Fiction is a hugely exciting and important landmark in the annual cultural calendar. To be chairing the 2023 prize is therefore a great honour for me. I can’t wait to delve into the rich and varied novels that are on offer, and, alongside my fellow judges, help to celebrate women’s stories, sharing them with readers worldwide.”

Nigerian writer, Irenosen Okojie, 2023 Women’s Prize For Fiction, Afrocritik

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the most prestigious annual book award in the UK, and it celebrates works of fiction written by women. The 2022 prize was awarded to Ruth Ozeki for her book, The Book of Form and Emptiness (Viking).

The prize committee has announced that the shortlist for the 2023 award will be announced on the 7th of March, 2023.

Irenosen Okojie is the author of Butterfly Fish (Jacaranda Books) which won a Betty Trask award in 2016. The Nigerian writer won the 2020 AKO Caine Prize for African Writing for her short story, Grace Jones. Her 2016 collection of short stories, Speak Gigantular, was shortlisted for the 2016 inaugural Jhalak Prize. Her works appear in The New York Times, The Observer, The Guardian, the BBC and the Huffington Post. 

Okojie shared her excitement yesterday via this tweet.

                                                        (Read also: Fabienne Kanor Wins Aidoo0-Synder Book Prize 2022)

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Subscribe to our newsletter

Translate »