Now Reading
Nigerian Authors, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Akwaeke Emezi, Shortlisted for 2023 Indie Book Awards

Nigerian Authors, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Akwaeke Emezi, Shortlisted for 2023 Indie Book Awards

IMG 20230514 214529 1

Adichie and Emezi’s works were selected for the nonfiction and fiction categories, respectively.

By Helena Olori

Internationally celebrated Nigerian author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and multi-talented writer, Akwaeke Emezi, have been shortlisted for this year’s Indie Book Awards, alongside Booker Prize-winning author, Douglas Stuart; Women Prize-shortlisted author, Barbara Kingsolver, and other notable writers.

“The shortlist for this year’s Indie Book Awards is full of brilliant authors,” says Emma Bradshaw, head of campaigns at the Booksellers Association. “…and as they are judged by independent booksellers, you can be sure they’ll be spot-on recommendations for their summer reading list,” she adds.

(Read also: Nigerian Fiction Writer, Arinze Ifeakandu, Wins 2023 Dylan Thomas Prize)

This year’s shortlist is divided into four categories, namely, fiction, non-fiction, children’s fiction, and picture book, featuring six authors in each category, offering readers a wide range of topics.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
azemezi 20230201 p 3028694524964395079 1 3028694519226647570
Akwaeke Emezi

IMG 20230514 214529 IMG 20230514 214354

Notes on Grief by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, shortlisted for the non-fiction category, along with five other authors, is an exquisitely written tribute to her father, James Nwoye Adichie, who passed away during the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. The book delves into “the familial and cultural dimensions of grief and the loneliness and anger that are unavoidable in it.”

See Also
Bukky Wright returns in Red Circle

Emezi’s You Made a Fool out of Death with Your Beauty, shortlisted for the fiction category, follows the love story of young widow, Feyi Adekola, seeking joy while healing from loss.

(Read also: 6 African Writers Shortlisted For The 2023 Commonwealth Short Story Prize)

A judging panel of independent booksellers, including Tom Rowley, Olivia Rosenthall, Nik Lowe, Liz de Saulles, and Mel Griffin for adult categories, and Alan Flack, Liz Tye, Kayleigh Diggle, and Emma Corfield-Walters for children’s categories, will select the four winners who will be announced on Friday, the 23rd of June.

The Indie Book Awards, curated exclusively by independent bookshops, celebrates the best paperbacks of the summer, and is part of the Independent Bookshop Week (IBW) slated for 17-24 June 2023. It is also an integral part of the Books Are My Bag campaign, which celebrates independent bookshops.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2024 All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top