December 2, 2023

Oriogun will be awarded the cash prize of $100,000.

By Editor

In the award ceremony which was held yesterday, Nigerian poet, Romeo Oriogun, was announced as the winner of the 2022 NLNG-sponsored Nigeria Prize for Literature at the Eko Convention Centre at Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos, Nigeria. He wins the prize for his poetry collection, Nomad (Griots Lounge).

The shortlist comprising Romeo Oriogun, Saddiq Dzukogi, and Su’eddie Vershima Agema, culled from a long list of 11 poets, was announced by chair of the Prize’s Advisory Committee, Professor Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo.

(Read also: Nigerian Writer, Ibrahim Babatunde  Announced Winner Of 2022 Quramo Writers’ Prize)

The prize which awards the winning writer the cash prize of $100,000 is considered the biggest, most prestigious award in Africa. The prize is rotated across four years in the novel, poetry, children literature and drama categories.

The panel of judges for this year’s prize includes Sule Emmanuel Egya, Toyin Adewale-Gabriel and Dike Chukwumerije.

Collage of Romeo Oriogun and cover of Nomad (Source: Olongo Africa)
Collage of Romeo Oriogun and cover of Nomad (Source: Olongo Africa)

Last year’s winner of the prize was Cheluchi Onyemelukwe for her novel, The Son of the House.

Romeo Oriogun is a Nigerian poet and essayist. He is the author of Sacrament of Bodies (University of Nebraska) and three chapbooks. He won the 2017 edition of the Brunel University African Poetry Prize, and was a finalist for the 2020 Lambda Literary Award for Gay Poetry, as well as The Future Awards African Prize for Literature. His poems have appeared in Poetry Foundation, Harvard Review, American Poetry Review, Narrative Magazine, The New Yorker, and others.

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Translate »