December 7, 2023

Arinze Ifeakandu is named the eleventh recipient of the award and is included in the longlist for the Dylan Thomas Prize.

By Helena Olori

Arinze Ifeakandu’s debut collection of short stories, God’s Children are Little Broken Things, has been announced as this year’s winner of The Short Story Prize Spotlight Award.

The Story Prize (TSP) in official statement says; “We’re pleased to announce that the winner for books published in 2022 is God’s Little Children Are Little Broken Things by Arinze Ifeakandu, published by A Public Space Book… This is the 11th time we’ve given out The Story Prize Award.”

The award, which is given to debut authors with unconventional perspectives, yet presenting literary works of high potentials, includes a prize of $1,000.

Arinze Ifeakandu- God's Little Children Are Little Broken Things
Arinze Ifeakandu

4CB7163C 8E62 44BF 953E F8CE53E5DF79 300BEA3E 43BB 4571 93E7 7D5F6D561018

Ifeakandu’s winning collection of nine riveting stories explores the love, betrayal, and the complexities that shape the lives of queer people.

For about a decade, the emerging Nigerian fiction writer and  graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, has captivated audiences with his insightful short stories that shed light on the experiences of the LGBTQ+ community, especially in a society characterised by widespread intolerance towards these individuals.

Ifeakandu’s book has also received a good number of recognition for its literary brilliance, including being longlisted for the 2023 Dylan Thomas Prize.

1 comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Translate »