December 2, 2023

The awards event celebrates the accomplishments of young Africans who have excelled in their respective fields.

By Helena Olori 

Guinness World Record holder and celebrity chef, Hilda Baci, has been named the Young Person of the Year at the 2023 edition of The Future Awards Africa (TFAA), as the awards continue its legacy of honouring young Africans who have not only excelled in their fields but have also made a positive impact on society.

Hilda Baci Wins Young Person of the Year Prize as Future Awards Announces 17th Edition Winners - Afrocritik

The award-winning chef, certified by Guinness Records as the present record holder for the longest cooking marathon by an individual with an impressive time of 93 hours and 11 minutes, was recognised for her exceptional accomplishments and influence on young Africans in the year under review.

(Read also: Nigerian Superstars Steal the Spotlight as Davido and Rema Top Winners List at Inaugural Trace Awards)

Themed “Defying Odds, Inspiring Greatness”, the 17th edition of the Future Awards Africa was held on Sunday 22nd October at the Balmoral Convention Centre, Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos.  The awards also saw Nigerian fast-rising singer, Asake (Music), Napoli’s ace striker, Victor Osimhen (Sport), and AMVCA Best Actor winner, Tobi Bakre (Acting) emerge as some of the notable winners for the night.

Asake wins Prize for Music at the Future Awards Africa - Afrocritik


Tobi Bakre wins Prize for Acting at the Future Awards Africa - Afrocritik

The list of trailblazers continued with Veekee James recognised for her creativity and influence in Fashion, Victor Fatanmi for Technology, Morenike Olusanya for Arts and Literature, and Samuel Animashaun Perry (Broda Shaggy) for Content Creation, amongst others.

Veekee James for Trailblazer in Fashion - Future Awards Africa - Afrocritik

Morenike Olusanya for Arts and Literature - Future Awards Africa - Afrocritk

(Read also: Obari Gomba’s Play, “Grit,” Wins the 2023 Nigeria Prize for Literature)

The awards ceremony, hosted by BBN reality star, Vee Iye and actor James Gardiner, covered a wide array of sectors, from sports to arts and literature, film, music, journalism, and health and wellness, highlighting the achievements of these young stars.

hosted by BBN reality star, Vee Iye and actor James Gardiner - Future Awards Africa - Afrocritik

Here are all the winners for this year’s awards. See here for the nominations list.

  1. Prize for Young Person of The Year — Hilda Baci
  2. Prize for Music — Asake
  3. Prize for Sport — Victor Osimhen
  4. Prize for Acting – Tobi Bakre 
  5. Entrepreneurship — Lukman Shobowale
  6. Prize for Governance — Hakeem Onasanya
  7. Prize for Intrapreneurship — Precious Akpan
  8. Prize for Dance — Seyi Oluyole
  9. Prize for Technology – Victor Fatanmi
  10. Prize for Arts and Literature — Morenike Olusanya
  11. Prize for Fashion – Veekee James 
  12. Prize for Creative and Innovation — Hauwa Lawal
  13. Prize for Content Creation — Samuel Animashaun Perry (Broda Shaggy)
  14. Prize for Photography — Opeyemi Femi Oke
  15. Prize for Film — Ife Olujuyigbe
  16. Prize for Lawyers — Seyi Bioku Benjamin
  17. Prize for Education — Uchechi Rochas
  18. Prize for Health and Wellness — Mmekidmfon Umanah
  19. Prize for Advocacy and Activism — Osariemen Grace Omoruyi
  20. Prize for Journalism — Pelumi Salako
  21. Prize for Agriculture — Emmanuel Negedu
  22. Prize for Professional Service — Phoebe Dami-Asolo
  23. Prize for On-Air Personality – Omonhinmin Ilooise (ilowitdflo)
  24. Prize for Community Action — Idris Bilyaminu Ndasadulau
  25. Prize for Service to Young People–Melody Fidel and Bosun Tijani

Add comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Afrocritik Spotlight

Afrocritik Spotlight

Translate »